Annie Leibovitz

As far as photography goes, I always thought this is the one “art” that anyone could do. Most people can’t just pick up a paint brush and throw together the colors and strokes that will land your painting in an exhibit. Nor can the average person take a chisel to a block of marble and carve away a sculpture that will sit within the walls of a museum. But I always felt that anyone could just pick up a camera, whether 35 mm or digital, and just snap, snap, snap away until he or she will eventually land a great photo. That is until I saw the amazing photography of Annie Leibovitz.

Her work leaves no doubt that the world was given a gift in the form of Annie. She has an amazing imagination and no limit to her creativity. I see her work and immediately recognize that no matter how much I try, I would never be able to create a piece of art even remotely close to being as great as Annie’s. This woman has been able to capture the last 40 years of America’s history in such a way that no words are needed to describe what’s going on in her work. She’s been able to frame America’s grandest personas and time after time those photos became timeless. As you see Annie put together her work, you realize that you’re witnessing greatness. My entire life I believed that true artists were those who created paintings or statues. Annie Leibovitz changed that perception for me.

About Jose L Quintero

CSUSM Student of Arts World Culture 240 (Wednesday 5:30-8:15).

Posted on November 2, 2011, in Movie Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment