Strictly Ballroom

This has got to be one of the worst dance movies I’ve ever seen. Definitely a poor man’s version of Dirty Dancing. You know what, that poor man was more like destitute, homeless, and starving. Prior to watching this movie, I thought of movies like Honey or Stomp the Yard as horrible dance movies. This one puts those two in Oscar contention. Sure it had a few nice dance moves and dance scenes, but the scene shots were horrible, the acting was shotty and the plot was ridiculous. My biggest issue with this film is the manner in which the director filmed what seemed to be 85% of this movie as a closeup of the main character Scott Hastings. I could almost count the wrinkles on his face. RIDICULOUS!

I guess if I have to find art in this story or a lesson in art, it’s this: no matter who you are or how uncoordinated you may be, you too can be a GREAT dancer as long as you have some talented brat to teach you. I mean, a paso doble is supposed to save the dancing community? Come on! That pretty much summarizes the entire movie. All 94 minutes of this movie summarized in a couple sentences. With that I hope to save you 94 minutes of your life. Perhaps now you can spend your time in a more productive and fulfilling way, like skipping rocks across a pond.

About Jose L Quintero

CSUSM Student of Arts World Culture 240 (Wednesday 5:30-8:15).

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Movie Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment